PTA Reflections 

2020-2021 Reflections Recognition | Reflections Contest Rules  




CONGRATULATIONS!  We would like to recognize the following Wolftrap Elementary School students who participated in this year's National PTA Reflections Art Contest


Reflections is an optional program which encourages students to explore the arts and express themselves by giving positive recognition for their artistic efforts.  Since it was founded in 1969, millions of students across the United States have benefited from this program. 


Artworks interpret a different theme each year and the 2020-2021 theme was "I MATTER BECAUSE".


A special shout out to Julia Drolet for heading to States!

Julia’s visual arts entry, We All Matter, and her film entry, I Matter, You Matter Too! won Outstanding Interpretation at the Fairfax County Council PTA and advanced to Northern Virginia District PTA of the Reflections competition. Both entries have advanced to the State level of the competition with other first place District winners from around the country. Way to go, Julia!


Congratulations to Lily Eldridge for advancing to NOVA District PTA with her literature entry, What I see In You, an inspiring story about how a young teacher helps two very different students see the value in themselves. Lily also won Outstanding Interpretation from Fairfax County Council PTA. Great job, Lily!


First Place Winners at Wolftrap Elementary school that advanced to the Fairfax County Council PTA listed by age group include:



Arya Meggers, Literature, Questions and a Hand Raised

Gemma Viscomi, Photography, Coco and Me

Evelyn Uhl, Visual Arts, Self-Portrait



Megan Dean, Literature, I Matter Because I am Brave

William Geer, Photography, Land of the Free Because of the Brave

Julia Drolet, Music Composition, I Matter, We All Matter, Film Production, I Matter, You Matter Too!, and Visual Arts, We All Matter!



Cassie Geer, Photography, All Creatures Great and Small

Caitlin Holtaway, Visual Arts, Foresight

Lily Eldridge, Literature, What I See In You



Students who placed in the contest on the Local Wolftrap Elementary School Level include:


2nd Place:

Olivia Zaho, Primary Visual Arts Primary, Coronavirus Fighter

Savannah Weise, Intermediate Photography, Big Sister

Sahana Gowrishankar, Intermediate Visual Arts, My Storybook

Julia Drolet, Intermediate Literature, Diamante Poem: I Matter

Tahlia Enstrom, Middle Visual Arts, World Puzzle


3rd Place:

Daphne Rosner, Primary Visual Arts, Only One Me

Alice Uhl, Intermediate Photography, I am a Creator

Naomi Rosner, Intermediate Literature, Just Different


Honorable Mention:

Camden Dean, All The reasons I Matter

Naomi Rosner, Visual Arts, An Act of Love

Megan Dean, Visual Arts, Scary New Things

Lucia Bonilla, Visual Arts, Reading Makes Time Fly


A big congratulations to all our winners and participants in this year’s Reflections Contest! Everyone did a fantastic job! Our judges were very impressed with the quality and creativity of all entries submitted.


Keep creating!!

Tara Holtaway

Reflections Chair 




Pictured above: 2019 - 2020 “Look Within” participants, several of whom came back again to participate in “I Matter Because”.


Thank you to all those who participated in this year’s contest!



Wolftrap students may submit art work for any of the following categories in the stated file format.    

Dance Choreography:  Solo and ensemble works of all dance styles are accepted.  Entrant must be the choreographer and may also be the performer or one of the performers.  If background music is used, cite it on the entry form.  Video file must not exceed 5 minutes in length and 1 GB in size.  Acceptable formats:  AVI, FLV, WMV, MOV, and MP4.  


Film Production:  Accepted short film styles include: Animation, narrative, documentary, experimental or media presentation.  Use of PowerPoint is prohibited.  Entrant must be screenwriter, cinematographer, editor and producer.  If background music is used, cite it on the entry form.  Video file must not exceed 5 minutes in length and 1 GB in size.  Acceptable formats:  AVI, FLV, WMV, MOV, and MP4.  


Literature:  Accepted forms of fiction and non-fiction include: Prose, poetry, reflective essay, screenplay and play script, narrative and short story.  Entrant may write in their primary language as long as an interpretative English translation is also attached.  Use of copyrighted material is prohibited.  Writing must not exceed 2,000 words and may be handwritten or typed.  Acceptable formats:  Single-sided print on 8 1/2" x 11" paper or PDF. 


Music Composition:  All music styles and combination of instrumentation are accepted.  Entrant must be the composer and may also be the performer or one of the performers.  Use of copyrighted material is prohibited.  Audio file must not exceed 5 minutes in length and 1 GB in size.  Acceptable formats:  MP3, WMA, WAV, ACC, FLAC.  Notation (score/tablature) in PDF format is only required for middle and high school divisions.


Photography:  Photo must be a single print or digital image. Collages and collections of photos are not accepted. Entrant must be the photographer and may use a variety of digital editing techniques including, but not limited to, multiple exposure, negative sandwich and photogram. Use of copyrighted material is prohibited. Print image dimensions must be no smaller than 3" x 5" and no larger than 8" x 10". Acceptable print formats: Mounted on mat or poster board no larger than 11" x 14".


Visual Arts:  Works of both fine and design arts are accepted, including, but not limited to:  architectural drawing and models, ceramics, collage, computer generated images and graphics, crafts, drawing, fashion clothes and jewelry, fiber work, mixed media, painting, printmaking and sculpture.  Use of copyrighted materials is prohibited.  2D artworks must be mounted on sturdy material and no larger than 24" x 30" with matting. Framed entries are not accepted.  Include one digital image of artwork with your submission.  3D artwork submissions must contain 3 digital images of artwork at different angles.  Image(s) are used for artwork identification, judging and exhibition purposes.